Who IS Dav Pauli . . . and why does he write?

I’m a retiree, now in my seventies, who has lived a full and varied life, some periods dull, yet others quite interesting. I may be on the Autism Spectrum. I have not had a brain scan to see if that confirms it, but I certainly have always had traits that indicate the possibility. If so, I guess I might be on the mild side of the Spectrum, but people who know me well would agree that I am the “odd duck.”

I believe I have written something for just about everyone to enjoy and, hopefully, to learn life-lessons from.

I write to communicate my ideas with my friends and others who may find a point of view they hadn’t considered before.

I write to share — to lay open my soul.

I write most of my poems to make people smile, or think, or feel.

I write memoirs to encourage others, especially those who may need to know someone is listening, someone else who has hurt or loved or lost or laughed. I wrote The Big Snow Of ’66, OOPS (how I almost blew up St. Louis), The Time I Slugged A Greek God And Lived To Tell The Tale, and other Army experiences to share with other Cold War veterans, hoping to stir their own memories and bring readers some smiles.

I wrote about seeing a rotary-piston snowmobile engine in 1972 and being compelled to immediately replace my fine BMW opposed-twin engine with it. I could visualize every step of the process and just how it could be (and was) done. It was a simple process and I couldn’t understand why BMW didn’t do it.

I write fiction because I was blessed with imagination . . . and because I just can’t help it.

I wrote Ha’nt, a true ghost story to retell a tale a great uncle told me when I was in grade school. It’s as accurate to his telling as I can remember. I really enjoyed it and felt others may enjoy it, too.

I wrote Welcome To Grimmland because I love old “horror” movies. 

I wrote Cash Cab Caper, Critique Group and The Last Chanticleer to see how briefly I could tell a story that satisfied myself.

Below are short stories that I hope to publish soon:

I wrote Gargoyles to tell people about one really special dog.

I wrote Digger to try to keep alive the memory of my brother’s off-beat personality.

I wrote In The Mean Time as a remembrance of two boys who may have been the best friends I ever had and again wanted to share a little of their personalities and the warmth I still feel for them with others.

The Murder of Mary Ann was inspired by a young lady with a special personality, but died of a natural (if no less tragic) illness.

I wrote The Bermuda Time Angle because I’d thought of a way to write a tribute to a group of pretty much forgotten service men from WW II.

I wrote In the Time of the Mound Builders because I wanted to share my wonder for a lost culture with people who may not be aware of them.

DavReading

Leave a comment